Facebook is growing up fast. In fact, it’s celebrating its tenth birthday today, with over 1.23 billion monthly active users. Mark Zuckerberg has posted a detailed reflection of this amazing journey, and along with it, he and his team at Facebook has compiled a video summary of each of the billion+ Facebook users.

facebook-lookback

Facebook Look Back contains a compilation of around twenty of the most liked photos, statuses, and life events set to a catchy tune. These personalized videos are of course automated, but takes you down the memory lane. Facebook has knowingly or unknowingly become a part of our lives, and this video portrays just that for each of us.

It must have taken immense work and resources for folks at Facebook to craft and render millions of HD videos and send them out to users. Obviously, Facebook’s engineering lead on the project, Nick Kwiatek is proud of what his team has achieved:

“One of the things that motivated us was that there’s really only a handful of companies that could take on something like this — that could render videos for as many people as we can”

To mark the tenth anniversary, there is a simple infographic shared which quantifies the decade long journey. For example, there have been 201.6 billion friend connections made since Feb 2004, and over 400 billion photos shared since Oct 2005. Check out other interesting stats below.

Facebook_10th

You might have to wait for the notification to pop up announcing that your look back video is ready. But you can always head to this page and stir up some social-networking nostalgia starting today. Sadly, there is no easy way to share your personalized video. Hope, Facebook can provide that option as well.

Update: A lot of you have been complaining about video getting deleted, but here’s a good news for you. Facebook now lets you edit the Look Back video! Here’s how to go about it.

  • Go to the Facebook Lookback page
  • Hit the edit button on top right corner (next to Share/Update button)
  • Pick your new photos/posts from the pre-populated selections
  • Hit the “Update” button at the top of the page
  • Wait a few minutes for Facebook to generate your new video.
 
31
SHARES
Source: The Verge
Tags:
 
Founder-Editor

Raju is the founder-editor of Technology Personalized. A proud geek and an Internet freak, who is also a social networking enthusiast. You can follow him on Facebook and on Twitter. Mail Raju PP. Follow rajupp

 
 
  • Carla

    Any idea why it’s just showing me six pictures and not a video?

    • jane

      Me too. I inadvertently deleted my video and when i try to repost it,it’s no longer showing the video but pictures…:(( pls help

      • APo

        I reported the same to FB directly and I hope they will finally fix this

        • http://techpp.com Raju

          Good job!

    • cindy

      likewise, i deleted my post and i cant retrieve the video again from that url. it just shows pictures.

      • Joshua Michael Mintz

        I did that too

  • Cindee

    “Depending on how much content you have shared and how long you have been
    on Facebook, you will either see the personalized video, a collection
    of photos or a simple thank-you card, the spokesperson said.”

  • Lorree

    how do you share the video?

  • Christina

    my video is no there and I have been on facebook since 2007? why? only shoes 6 photos?

  • Laurie Murray Byram

    I accidently deleted my Look Back 10th anniversary video. Is there anyway to retrieve it?
    Thanks

    • http://techpp.com Raju

      So many readers are reporting the same issue, but I don’t get how did you manage to ‘delete’ the video? It’s just a link right?

      • Alonso Alfaro Ureña

        I got the same problem. Deleting the post where you have it apparently deletes the video, because I go to the link and now I have only some pictures, not the original video.

        • Rani Patel

          how cone I never got a video to begin with? and only pics. so theres no way to retrieve videO?

      • Laurie Murray Byram

        I lied…it wasn’t an accident.
        I thought if I deleted it I might get a different arrangement of photos shuffled in cause there were a couple on my video that were stupid.
        Sorry….LOL

        • TheFraggleRocks

          I did the same :(

        • http://techpp.com Raju

          Check the update at the end of the post

      • Rani Patel

        I didnt even get a video, just 6 pics wth thank u note from mark. how do I get a video?

        • http://techpp.com Raju

          Check the update at the end of the post.

  • Bosz Menard

    any pic guys tnx :D

  • Riri

    I really enjoyed mine until I deleted it in error and now I cant get it back :(

    • Joseph Chiaravalloti

      I wish to delete mine. How did you do it?

  • marc

    i watched it.but it just disappeared.anybody knows how can i watch it again?

  • Angus

    Viewed my video via iPhone accidentally crossed it off how do I review it

  • Bambi

    I shared the video on my timeline but re posted a 2nd one with a link for my friends. Deleted the first but after, the 2nd post also disappeared. Now all I get are 6 pics. Please advise how I can get back my nice video?!

  • Rani Patel

    I didnt get a video, just 6 pictures and a thank you note from Mark. Why?

  • Sidhartha Golchha

    Recover & save your Facebook lookback video if you have deleted or unable to share

    Google Chrome,Internet Explorer, Firefox, Safari/Mac

    ***If you used GOOGLE CHROME when you watched your video prior to deleting, just do these:

    1. Type “chrome://view-http-cache ” on your chrome search bar (provided that you don’t clear history/cache after you close your browser)
    2. You will see a list of links on your window, just click Ctrl F or ⌘ F to and search “lookback” in the Find searchbar
    3. Look for the link that will have something like https://lookbackvideo7-a.akamaihd.net/hvideo and so on. Click that link.
    4. After you clicked the link, you will see on your window a bunch of text with white background. Ignore that. LOOK AT YOUR URL BAR. You should be able to see something like chrome://view-http-cache/https://lookbackvideo7-a.akamaihd.net/hvideo-ak-prn etc etc. In the long string of url, DELETE THIS PART: chrome://view-http-cache/ then press enter.
    5. You should be able to see your video again. Right click and choose “Save Video As” and just reupload on your Facebook timeline, Youtube, or anywhere.

    **If you used MOZILLA FIREFOX when you watched your video prior to deleting, just do these:

    FIREFOX. First, try typing in your address bar
    about:cache
    If nothing happens, you need to download the add on cache viewer here https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/cacheviewer/
    Once you’ve installed it, try the about:cache in the address bar again (as if typing a web address in)
    Go into your diske cache (2nd category) and press CTRL-F and search
    https://lookback
    Go through the ones that match and ONLY click on the links that are HUGE, like over 1million bytes. I say ONLY, because it can be a long process….once you think you’ve found it, click the link in the page that opens and your video should appear. Right click and save. You can now upload it to FB also.

    **For Interner Explorer

    1. http://www.wikihow.com/Locate-Temporary-Internet-Files : Follow this link to find your cache folder

    ** For Safari/Mac

    Please Use this link to downlaod cache browser and then follow my above description given above

    https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/web-cache-browser/id432802024?mt=12