Save up to 93% on some of the best SaaS →Check Black Friday Deals

New Facebook Snooze Button will let you Mute Person/Group Temporarily

by: - Last updated on: September 15th, 2017

Facebook has announced a pretty interesting new feature that will let you block a particular person or a business page on a temporary basis. One can block an annoying business page/group or a friend for 24 hours, 7 days or 30 days. The next time some tries to annoy the heck out of you, don’t fret the Facebook Snooze button will come in handy.

facebook snooze

The Snooze button is also expected to discourage people from unfollowing their friends permanently while still letting them control what they see. Most of the brands or business pages start over marketing themselves during an event or an ongoing launch it is in times like this you can temporarily mute them without unfollowing permanently (Something I always do with the annoying WhatsApp groups.)

The Snooze option on Facebook was first spotted by TechCrunch in the U.S and the same was confirmed by Facebook. This is what Facebook had to say to TechCrunch, “We’re testing new ways to give people control over their News Feeds so they can stay connected with the stories they find most relevant.

In order to snooze someone taps the down arrow dropdown next to their page and then you will be able to see the “Unfollow or Snooze” button, tapping on this will let you snooze the person/page for either a week, month or even unfollow them permanently. Facebook has earlier come up with features like “See Less”, but apparently this didn’t strike a chord with the users. Since the last couple of years, Facebook has been using the “Unfollow” button to let users unsubscribe from a particular persons/groups feed.

This will work in conjunction with Facebooks sorting algorithm that already arranges your feed based on the type of posts you like engaging with. Furthermore, the Snooze button is also expected to help Pages and Business retain their customers as it is likely to reduce the chances of someone leaving them permanently. Most importantly users will now have more control over their feed and a feature like this is always a welcome addition.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *