How to revoke third-party access to your Google account

by: - Last updated on: December 16th, 2019

In much the same way as Facebook, LinkedIn, or Twitter, which offer a single sign-on service (SSO) to allow for easy access to various apps and services, Google also has a similar service, called ‘Sign in with Google’, supported across a wide range of services (apps and websites). While using SSO takes away the need to remember the username and password for each and every app and service, it also renders the risk to leave an account vulnerable. And therefore, it is always a good practice to regularly monitor the apps and services that have access to your account information.

revoke google account access

With a single sign-on service (SSO) like Google, for instance, all that you need to do is select ‘Sign in with Google’ and allow the service access to your account information. After which, you are signed-in to the service and can continue to use it. While, with the traditional way, you need to sign up using your email address and a password, which is also required every time you want to sign back in, SSO takes away the hassle and makes it easier to use a service without having to worry about remembering various username and password combinations.


Types of Account access —

1. Basic – allows an app and service to access basic information of your account, such as name, email address, and profile picture (in some instances).
2. Read and Write – in addition to Basic access, which provides access to some information, Read and Write allows an app or service to create a copy of the information you provided and also edit or post content on your behalf.
3. Full access – provides an app or service complete access to your account information, which, in turn, grants the permission to view, edit, or even delete any information.

Similarly, when you decide to revoke access to your account, you normally see apps or services under two categories: Third-party apps with account access and Signing in with Google. As the name suggests, apps or services listed under Third-party apps with account access are the ones that have access to your account data (may include sensitive data in some instances). Whereas, the apps or services that are listed under Signing in with Google section use your Google account to sign you in and have access to only basic information, such as name, email address, and profile picture.

That said, let’s jump in and see how to revoke your Google account access from different services —

Revoke Access using Web Browser

1. First, sign-in to your Google account, click on your profile avatar at the top-right corner, and select Manage your Google Account.

2. On the Google Account homepage, select Security from the options on the left.

revoke google account access browser 1

3. Scroll down until you find a section that says Third-party apps with account access, and tap on Manage third-party access.

4. Here, you will see two sections: Third-party apps with account access and Signing in with Google. To revoke access from services listed under both these categories, tap on the service (you want to remove) and hit Remove Access.

revoke google account access browser 3

Revoke Access using Android Device

1. Open Settings and scroll down to find Google.
2. Under Services, select Account services.

revoke google account access android 1jpg
3. Now, select Connected apps to see a list of all the apps and devices with access to your Google account.

revoke google account access android 2

3. From here, tap on the app/service you want to revoke access to and hit the Disconnect button. You can also revoke access to a device in the same way.

revoke google account access android 3

Now that you have revoked access to your Google account, you will be logged out of these apps and services and will be required to grant them permission if and when you decide to use them again. Since your personal information is at stake when you grant permission to these apps and services, it is always advised to regularly keep a tab on what apps and services have access to your account data. And remove the ones that you no longer use.

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Be the first to know when we have a special new article. Don't worry, NO spamming allowed.
Dismiss
Allow Notifications