Internet Privacy has started sound like an oxymoron! Be it the Web-Browser privacy or privacy to your personal data online or even cell phone privacy, it has always seemed like getting worse by the day. Latest addition to the bandwagon is Facebook!

facebook-privacy-settings

Towards the end of the last year, Facebook announced some changes to their Privacy Policy and towards how they perceive users’ privacy. They would default the user profiles to be viewed by everyone, which means that anyone with a Facebook account can view your settings. It caused a huge uproar by some people, but I believe Facebook is just trying to give maximum control to the users on how they want different people to view their details on Facebook.


How to Change Facebook Privacy Settings?

Check out this official video which explains the available options/settings and a good idea to customize it to your needs

Cross Check Your Privacy Settings

Create and Populate Lists

facebook-friends-lists

The first thing you must do is to segregate all your friends/contacts and put them into custom lists. Facebook lists provide a way for users to group their friends in order to organize them and to have more control of your privacy by using these lists. There is no such restrictions on number of lists you can create, but having an optimal number makes your profile management easier. To create a list, login to Facebook, click on the Friends link on top, Press the Create List button. Enter the name you wish to call your list, and you can enter the friends you want to add to that list.

Check Your Profile Privacy Settings

privacy-settings

The next step is to check and set your privacy settings, which is the most important activity. So, go to Settings and then Privacy Settings. In the Privacy Settings window, go to Profile Information. Profile Information is where you can control what people can see on your profile. The default provided to Facebook users are: Everyone, which I guess is not what you want. So change it to whatever you like.

Log into your Facebook account and follow this link to instantly know how your profile might look to other people on Facebook who are not your friends.

Check Your Contact Privacy Settings

contact-info

Now click on Back to Privacy button to go back to the main privacy settings page. Here click on Contact Information. In this window, you are able to control who sees your contact information. Modify each privacy setting in the same way that you did for your profile information.

Check What Your Friends can Share about You to apps

This is another very important step. Nothing much has changed with respect to the recent changes done to Facebook privacy settings, but still it is better to cross check what all information is being shared to what all apps and websites via your friends.

privacy-apps-sites

Control who can search you

You can control who can search for your Facebook profile by going to the Search area. You can select from five choices: Everyone, Friends and Networks, Friends of Friends, and Only Friends.

Protect Your Albums

photo-privacy

Even after changing the privacy settings, it is better to cross check if your albums are protected from strangers and stalkers. Visit your Photos privacy page and limit the access to “Only Friends” or just for one list!

All these together, shouldn’t take more than 15 minutes of your time, but helps you keep private and secure for a long time. Any additional settings change you wanna suggest?

12
SHARES

 
Founder-Editor

Raju is the founder-editor of Technology Personalized. A proud geek and an Internet freak, who is also a social networking enthusiast. You can follow him on Facebook and on Twitter. Mail Raju PP. Follow rajupp

 
 
  • geoffc

    Thanks for a simple , clear explanation / guide,
    geoffc

  • http://www.technoskillonline.com sudharsan @ technoskillonline

    hey video tutor was nice
    ow did u create that..???

    • http://techpp.com Raju

      It’s a CNET video!!

  • Mystic

    The only thing Facebook doesn’t do is allow you to test to see how “friends of friends” get to see your profile. They don’t allow you to type a name of a Facebook member for verification of access who isn’t a direct friend of yours but a friend of someone on your list.